HHH logo
home concerts history archive contact links

P R O G R A M M E   O F   E V E N T S   2 0 1 4  –  2 0 1 5

Concerts take place at St Christopher’s Church, Wey Hill, Haslemere, Surrey GU27 1DD
All concerts start at 7.30 pm

If you wish to receive information about future events,
please send an email with your name and address to: vartans@haslemere.com

For information about HHH EVENTS FOR YOUNG AND OLD, click here

Saturday 4th October

Sara Bitlloch: violin
Donald Grant: violin
Martin Saving: viola
Marie Bitlloch: cello

Beethoven: String Quartet in D major Op 18 No 3
Beethoven: String Quartet in F major Op 95
Beethoven: String Quartet in B flat major Op 130
Elias String Quartet Photo by Benjamin Ealovega
Formed in 1998 at the Royal Northern College of Music, the Elias String Quartet have quickly established themselves as one of the most intense and vibrant quartets of their generation.. They perform regularly in the UK and Western Europe, and recently returned from a successful tour of USA.

"There’s something intoxicating about the Elias String Quartet. For its Philadelphia Chamber Music Society visit, the Elias brought the Haydn quartet…to the point of instantly rendering every other performance in the listener’s memory as but a pale stab."
Philadelphia Enquirer, March 2014

Saturday 25th October


Mozart: Sonata in G, KV379
Brahms: Sonata No 1 in G
Debussy: Sonata in G minor
Sibelius: Two Humoresques Op 87
Wieniawski: Faust Fantasy
Martyn Jackson and Petr Limonov
Left to right: Martyn Jackson; Petr Limonov
Martyn Jackson graduated from the Royal College of Music, and made his recital debut at the Purcell Room in 2008. He has performed as a solo artist and chamber musician throughout the UK, much of Europe and the Middle East. Martyn is leader of the Cavaleri String Quartet, and is a selected artist on the Countess of Munster Recital Scheme.

Petr Limonov started playing the piano at the age of 5 and studied at the Moscow Central Music School, and later at the Royal Academy of Music under a full scholarship. After winning first prize in the Nikolai Rubinstein Piano Competition in Paris is 1998 he has toured widely especially in Russia, the UK and France.

This concert is supported by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust.

Saturday 29th November

Wind quintet with Mark van de Wiel: clarinet

Schubert: String Trio in B flat major D471
Mozart : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in A major, K581
Brahms : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in B minor Op 115
Endymion Ensemble

‘The brilliant Endymion’ (Sunday Times) delivers world–class performances of chamber music throughout London, the UK and abroad. They perform regularly at venues including Wigmore Hall, Southbank Centre, the BBC Proms and the Cheltenham and Spitalfields Festivals. Endymion has made many recordings and their latest disc, Sound Census, was released in March 2010. 2011 featured a major collaboration with EXAUDI, a three–day festival of chamber music by Shostakovich and Schnittke at King’s Place and the UK premiere of Elliott Carter’s Clarinet Quintet. They celebrate their 35th birthday in 2014.

"Endymion always communicate the pleasure they experience in music making."
The Times

back to top back to top

Saturday 14th February

Emma Brain–Gabbott: soprano
Nina Bennet: soprano
David Martin: counter–tenor
Tom Raskin: tenor
Francis Brett: baritone ⁄ director
Phillip Tebb: bass

The Programme – ‘The Food of Love’

Madrigals interspersed with Shakespearean Sonnets and passages from the plays.

Amaryllis Consort
The Amaryllis Consort is a vocal ensemble consisting of established soloists who have a particular affinity for the subtleties of ensemble singing with its special demands on technique and musicianship. Madrigals and secular music of the Renaissance remain the Consort's area of expertise. The ensemble celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2013 with an invitation concert in College Hall, Westminster Abbey, directed by the founder's son, Francis Brett.

"The Amaryllis Consort…all show an exceptionally high level of musicianship.... It was a demonstration of excellence in every respect..."
The Guardian

Saturday 21st March:


JOHN LILL: piano

Mozart: Sonata in F, K332
Schuman: ‘Carnival Jest from Vienna’ Op 26
Prokofiev: Toccata in D minor Op 11
Brahms: Three Intermezzi Op 117
Beethoven: Sonata in F minor Op 57 ‘Appassionata’

John Lill
Unanimously described as the leading pianist of his generation, John Lill’s career has taken him to over fifty countries, both as a recitalist and as a soloist with the world’s greatest orchestras. His rare talent emerged at an early age – he gave his first piano recital at the age of nine. At eighteen he performed Rachmaninov’s 3rd Piano Concerto under Sir Adrian Boult, followed by his much–acclaimed London debut playing Beethoven's ‘Emperor’ Piano Concerto at the Royal Festival Hall. His success was reflected in many prestigious international prizes and awards, and in 1970 he won the most coveted of these, the Moscow International Tchaikovsky Competition, further consolidating his already busy international concert schedule.

"Still a majestic presence... one was immediately drawn in by the unforced, unselfconscious beauty of the sound."
The Independent

back to top back to top
Thursday 19th March 2015



This concert is designed particularly for elderly or disabled people who may prefer an afternoon event.
Priority will be given to them but all are welcome to apply for tickets.

The concert starts at 2.45 pm

Emma McGovern: oboe
Adam Slater: clarinet
Susanne Simma: bassoon

Gelachter Wind Trio

Gelachter present an exciting programme, featuring classical works by Beethoven, Mozart and
modern virtuosic pieces by George Auric and Cecilia McDowall.


For more information about The Teatime Concert contact
Veronica Powell on 01428 683163
Email: vjpowell@hotmail.co.uk

back to top back to top back to home page back to home page Last updated 28th June 2014